This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.
UK customers — find us on Healf →

7 Best Hydroxytyrosol Supplements for Longevity (2026)

Olivea hydroxytyrosol supplement capsules beside a bottle of high-phenolic extra virgin olive oil

Editorial note: Olivea publishes this article and includes its own product among those reviewed. Learn more

7 Best Hydroxytyrosol Supplements for Longevity (2026)

Type "hydroxytyrosol" into a supplement search bar and you get olive leaf extracts that never name a milligram, beauty drinks with unlisted doses, and a handful of capsules that actually put a number on the label. This roundup covers that handful. Seven products, ranked by the only three things that matter for this compound: how many milligrams of hydroxytyrosol a capsule actually carries, whether that figure comes from a lab report you can read, and whether the source is olive fruit, olive leaf, or an extract standardized to something else entirely.

Olivea hydroxytyrosol supplement capsules beside a bottle of high-phenolic extra virgin olive oil

Two things to know before the list. First, the reference dose is small. The EU-recognized health claim for olive polyphenols is built on 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives a day, which is why a 20 to 25 mg capsule clears it several times over; our EFSA claim breakdown explains the threshold. Second, "for longevity" in the title means what the aging research measures, which is oxidative-stress and inflammation biomarkers, not lifespan. We are careful about that distinction below, because the supplement aisle is not.

One of the seven is ours, and it sits at number one for two reasons that matter more than the number printed on a label. It is the only product on the list where the hydroxytyrosol figure is lab-verified per batch and published, and it is the only one that delivers the compound inside extra virgin olive oil, the carrier a randomized trial found recovers more hydroxytyrosol than any other. Two products print a higher number on the label; neither publishes a report, and neither delivers it in oil.

The seven, in ranked order:

  1. Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement: Best Overall. Lab-verified 23.5 mg per capsule, fruit-derived, delivered inside high-phenolic extra virgin olive oil.
  2. ProHealth Longevity Hydroxytyrosol Extreme: Best Pure-Dose Capsule. 25 mg per capsule from organic olive leaf, 90 capsules.
  3. Swanson Olea25 Olive Leaf Extract: Best Value Standardized Capsule. 100 mg olive leaf extract standardized to 25 percent hydroxytyrosol, 25 mg per capsule.
  4. MCS Formulas Hydroxytyrosol: Highest Labeled Dose. 50 mg per capsule, shipped from Europe.
  5. Island Nutrition 20 Percent Hydroxytyrosol Complex: Best Fruit-Extract Alternative. 100 mg Spanish olive fruit extract, about 20 mg hydroxytyrosol.
  6. Designs for Health Olive Leaf Extract: Best Olive Leaf Complex. Standardized to about 100 mg oleuropein; hydroxytyrosol present but unquantified.
  7. Pure Encapsulations Olive Leaf Extract: Best Hypoallergenic Option. About 75 mg oleuropein; not a hydroxytyrosol product, included because people search for it as one.

How We Rate Hydroxytyrosol Supplements

Five criteria, weighted toward the verified number, the proof behind it, and whether the carrier lets the compound be absorbed.

Infographic of the criteria used to rate hydroxytyrosol supplements: labeled dose, verification, source, format and value

1. Labeled Hydroxytyrosol Dose

The label has to state hydroxytyrosol in milligrams, or a standardization percentage that lets you calculate it. "Olive extract, 500 mg" tells you nothing. We rated every product against the 5 mg daily figure behind the EU claim and the 5 to 20 mg range the human trials actually used, which our hydroxytyrosol dosage guide lays out.

2. Verification

A "lab tested" badge is decoration. A batch certificate of analysis you can open is proof. Products that publish one scored highest; products that state a number without a report scored in the middle; products with no hydroxytyrosol number at all scored lowest on this criterion regardless of how good the rest of the label looked.

3. Source

Hydroxytyrosol in the Mediterranean-diet research comes from olive fruit and oil. Most capsules on the market are olive leaf extracts converted toward hydroxytyrosol, or olive leaf standardized to oleuropein, which is a related but different compound. We favored fruit-derived products and, where the source is leaf, products that still put a hydroxytyrosol milligram on the label.

4. Format and Delivery

Hydroxytyrosol is a small polar molecule, and how it is carried decides how much of it you absorb. A 20-person randomized trial gave the same 5 mg dose in six different carriers. Extra virgin olive oil produced the highest plasma peak at 30 minutes and the highest 24-hour urinary recovery: 37 percent more than refined olive oil, 56 percent more than flax oil, 2.6 times grapeseed oil, and the water and yogurt arms showed no significant rise at all. A milligram that is not absorbed is not a dose. That is why the carrier weighs as much as the number in our ranking.

5. Value per Milligram

Price divided by total verified hydroxytyrosol in the bottle. A more expensive bottle with a published number routinely beats a cheaper bottle with none.

Hydroxytyrosol Supplements Compared

Doses are as labeled by each producer. Prices and counts for non-Olivea products are from publicly available sources at the time of writing and should be checked before purchase.

Product Hydroxytyrosol per capsule Source Count and price Lab report Best for
Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement 23.5 mg, lab-verified Olive fruit extract in extra virgin olive oil $40 one-time, $28 to $32 on subscription Published per batch Verified dose, delivered in EVOO
ProHealth Longevity Hydroxytyrosol Extreme 25 mg, as labeled Organic olive leaf 90 capsules, about $37 Not published Labeled 25 mg, no report, dry capsule
Swanson Olea25 Olive Leaf Extract 25 mg, as labeled (100 mg at 25 percent) Olive leaf 60 capsules Not published Value standardized capsule
MCS Formulas Hydroxytyrosol 50 mg, as labeled Spanish olive trees Sold from Europe, international shipping Not published Labeled 50 mg, above the trial range, dry capsule
Island Nutrition 20 Percent Hydroxytyrosol Complex About 20 mg (100 mg at 20 percent) Spanish olive fruit extract Amazon Not published Fruit-derived dry capsule
Designs for Health Olive Leaf Extract Not stated (about 100 mg oleuropein) Olive leaf Practitioner channels Not published Olive leaf complex
Pure Encapsulations Olive Leaf Extract Not stated (about 75 mg oleuropein) Olive leaf Retail and online Not published Hypoallergenic olive leaf

Read the second and fifth columns together. Only one product pairs a hydroxytyrosol number with a published report, and it is also the only one delivered in olive oil. Two products print a higher number on the label than our verified 23.5 mg; neither backs it with a report, and both are dry capsules. Two products do not state a hydroxytyrosol figure at all and are here because searchers keep landing on them looking for one.

Absorption: Why the Number on the Label Is Not the Point

Most comparisons of hydroxytyrosol supplements stop at milligrams. The research does not. In the trial above, every arm received exactly 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol, the figure behind the EU health claim, and the only variable was what carried it. Extra virgin olive oil recovered 0.86 micrograms per milligram of creatinine in 24-hour urine. Refined olive oil recovered 0.63, flax oil 0.55, grapeseed oil 0.33, and the yogurt and water arms produced no significant increase over baseline. Same molecule, same dose, up to 2.6 times the recovery depending on the carrier, and in the non-fat arms almost none.

The trial did not test an Olivea product. It tested the design decision behind it. A dry powder capsule dissolving in the stomach is closer to the water arm of that trial than to the oil arm; that is an inference from the trial rather than something it measured, and it is the reason we built the capsule with the extract sealed inside extra virgin olive oil instead of pressed into a powder. Olive phenols are already among the best-absorbed dietary phenols when they arrive in oil, and the carrier is how you keep that advantage in a capsule. Read the labeled doses on this page with that in mind: 25 mg or 50 mg in a dry capsule is a bigger number, not a proven bigger dose.

1. Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement: Best Overall

Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement, capsule-in-capsule design with olive extract inside extra virgin olive oil

Dose and Source

Each capsule carries a lab-verified 23.5 mg of hydroxytyrosol, more than four times the 5 mg behind the EU health claim. The compound comes from olive fruit extract, 200 mg of it, sealed inside a 400 mg core of high-phenolic extra virgin olive oil in a capsule-in-capsule design. The oil is not a filler. It is the carrier that recovered 2.6 times more hydroxytyrosol than grapeseed oil and 37 percent more than refined olive oil at the same dose in the trial above, and the reason we chose the format.

Notable Features

  • Published lab results: the hydroxytyrosol figure is verified per batch and posted on our lab results page.
  • Fruit-derived: olive extract, not olive leaf standardized to oleuropein.
  • Oil delivery: the extract sits inside high-phenolic EVOO rather than a dry powder.
  • Medical advisory board: a board of Harvard-trained cardiologists sets Olivea's polyphenol thresholds.
  • One capsule a day: $40 one-time, or $32, $30 and $28 a month on monthly, quarterly and six-month subscriptions.

About Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement

Olivea built the capsule for people who used to take a morning olive oil shot and wanted the hydroxytyrosol without the calories or the taste. The design question was how to keep the compound in oil, since a plain powder capsule leaves the matrix behind. The answer was to put the extract inside the oil rather than beside it. Every batch is tested, and the number is published rather than claimed, which is the standard we hold every other product on this page to.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
Lab-verified 23.5 mg hydroxytyrosol per capsule, results published Two products print a higher number on the label, without a report or an oil carrier
Fruit-derived hydroxytyrosol delivered in extra virgin olive oil Premium price at $40 one-time
Subscription pricing down to $28 a month Sold direct; not in mass-market retail
Single daily capsule Small batches can sell out between harvests

Who It Is For

Anyone who wants a hydroxytyrosol number they can check, and who prefers the compound in the oil it comes from. It is the natural next step for people who take olive oil shots and want the dose without the ritual. If you would rather get hydroxytyrosol from food, our polyphenol-rich olive oil roundup covers the oils that publish their numbers.

2. ProHealth Longevity Hydroxytyrosol Extreme: Best Pure-Dose Capsule

image: ProHealth Longevity Hydroxytyrosol Extreme official product photo

Dose and Source

ProHealth labels 25 mg of hydroxytyrosol per capsule, derived from organic olive leaf, in a 90-capsule bottle sold on its own site and through retailers for about $37. On the labeled number it is slightly above our verified 23.5 mg, and it is the most widely stocked dedicated hydroxytyrosol product in the United States. As a dry leaf-extract capsule it does not carry the oil matrix that drove absorption in the trial.

Notable Features

  • 25 mg labeled dose: among the highest available from a US brand.
  • Organic olive leaf source: standardized extract rather than fruit.
  • 90 capsules: a three-month supply at one a day.
  • Wide availability: brand site, iHerb and Amazon.

About ProHealth Longevity Hydroxytyrosol Extreme

ProHealth is a longevity-focused supplement brand, and this is its dedicated hydroxytyrosol capsule. If you search "hydroxytyrosol" on the major online vitamin retailers, it is essentially the one standalone product you will find, surrounded by olive leaf extracts standardized to oleuropein instead. That reach is its strength. The gap is verification: the dose is stated on the label, but we did not find a batch certificate of analysis published for the product.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
25 mg labeled hydroxytyrosol per capsule No published batch lab report
Three-month supply for about $37 Leaf-derived, delivered as a dry capsule
Easiest dedicated product to find in the US Marketplace listings vary in who ships them

Who It Is For

Buyers who want the highest labeled dose from a US brand at a low cost per milligram, and who are comfortable taking the label's word for it. If you buy it on Amazon, use the "ships from and sold by" filter and prefer the brand or Amazon as the seller.

3. Swanson Olea25 Olive Leaf Extract: Best Value Standardized Capsule

image: Swanson Superior Herbs Olea25 olive leaf extract official product photo

Dose and Source

Each 100 mg olive leaf capsule is standardized to 25 percent hydroxytyrosol, which works out to 25 mg per capsule, in a 60-capsule bottle sold through swansonvitamins.com. The standardization is the important part: most olive leaf products are standardized to oleuropein, and this one is standardized to hydroxytyrosol itself.

Notable Features

  • 25 percent hydroxytyrosol standardization: rare for an olive leaf product.
  • 25 mg per capsule: level with ProHealth on the labeled number.
  • Legacy brand: Swanson has sold supplements direct for decades.
  • 60 capsules: a two-month supply at one a day.

About Swanson Olea25

Olea25 sits in Swanson's Superior Herbs line and is the value entry among the standardized capsules here. It does the one thing that matters on the label, naming hydroxytyrosol rather than hiding behind "olive extract," and it does it at a legacy-brand price. Like ProHealth, it is leaf-derived and does not publish a batch report.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
Standardized to hydroxytyrosol, not oleuropein No published batch lab report
25 mg per capsule Smaller 60-count bottle
Established direct-sale brand Leaf-derived dry capsule

Who It Is For

Price-conscious buyers who still insist on a hydroxytyrosol milligram on the label. It is the sensible pick if ProHealth is out of stock.

4. MCS Formulas Hydroxytyrosol: Highest Labeled Dose

Dose and Source

MCS Formulas labels 50 mg of hydroxytyrosol per capsule, sourced from Spanish olive trees, and sells from Europe with international shipping. That is double the dose of anything else on this list and well above the range the human trials used, which is worth pausing on rather than treating as a bonus.

Notable Features

  • 50 mg labeled dose: the highest here.
  • Spanish olive source.
  • European brand: international shipping to the US.

About MCS Formulas Hydroxytyrosol

MCS Formulas is a European supplement maker with a following among people who read the research closely. The 50 mg figure is the reason it is on this list. The trade-offs are practical: shipping from Europe, no US retail presence, and no published batch report we could find. On dose, remember that the trials with the best evidence used 5 to 20 mg a day, and the EU's 2017 safety opinion on hydroxytyrosol as a novel food set intake levels well below what a 50 mg daily capsule provides. More is not obviously better; a higher dose is a reason to check with a clinician, not a reason to skip the check.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
50 mg labeled hydroxytyrosol per capsule Dose is above the trial range and the EFSA novel-food intake levels
Named olive source Ships from Europe; no US retail
Clear milligram labeling No published batch lab report

Who It Is For

Experienced supplement users who specifically want a high single-capsule dose and have discussed it with their doctor. Not the place to start.

5. Island Nutrition 20 Percent Hydroxytyrosol Complex: Best Fruit-Extract Alternative

Dose and Source

Island Nutrition sells 100 mg capsules of Spanish olive fruit extract standardized to 20 percent hydroxytyrosol, about 20 mg per capsule, primarily through Amazon. It is the only product on this list other than ours that is fruit-derived, which matters if you want the compound as the research studied it.

Notable Features

  • Olive fruit extract: not leaf.
  • About 20 mg per capsule: four times the EU claim threshold.
  • Amazon availability: fast shipping, easy returns.

About Island Nutrition Hydroxytyrosol Complex

This is a straightforward fruit-extract capsule with a clear standardization on the label. Its weakness is the channel: Amazon is the widest hydroxytyrosol marketplace and also the riskiest, because listings may be fulfilled by resellers and polyphenols degrade in warehouse heat. We did not find a published batch report. If you buy it, buy from the brand or Amazon as the seller, not a third party.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
Fruit-derived hydroxytyrosol No published batch lab report
Clear 20 percent standardization Marketplace channel with variable sellers
Fast Amazon shipping Dry capsule, no oil matrix

Who It Is For

Buyers who want fruit-derived hydroxytyrosol at a lower price than ours and are willing to do the seller check on Amazon themselves.

6. Designs for Health Olive Leaf Extract: Best Olive Leaf Complex

image: Designs for Health olive leaf extract official product photo

Dose and Source

Each capsule carries 500 mg of olive leaf extract standardized to 20 percent oleuropein, about 100 mg, and the extract contains other olive phenols including hydroxytyrosol, though the label does not quantify the hydroxytyrosol. That makes it a strong olive leaf product and a weak hydroxytyrosol product, and it is important to know which one you are buying.

Notable Features

  • About 100 mg oleuropein per capsule: a high standardization for olive leaf.
  • Practitioner-grade brand: widely used through clinician channels.
  • Whole olive leaf phenol profile: hydroxytyrosol present but unstated.

About Designs for Health Olive Leaf Extract

Designs for Health is a practitioner brand, and this is one of the more potent oleuropein-standardized olive leaf extracts on the market. Oleuropein is the compound olive leaf is known for; the body converts some of it toward hydroxytyrosol, but how much reaches you from a leaf extract is not something the label can tell you. Our olive leaf extract roundup ranks it against its actual peers. It typically involves twice-daily dosing.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
High oleuropein standardization No hydroxytyrosol milligram on the label
Trusted practitioner brand Twice-daily dosing
Full olive leaf phenol profile Not a hydroxytyrosol supplement in the strict sense

Who It Is For

People who want the olive leaf complex specifically, or whose practitioner recommended it. If you want a hydroxytyrosol number, look higher up this list.

7. Pure Encapsulations Olive Leaf Extract: Best Hypoallergenic Option

image: Pure Encapsulations olive leaf extract official product photo

Dose and Source

Pure Encapsulations offers 500 mg of olive leaf extract standardized to 15 percent oleuropein, about 75 mg per capsule, in a hypoallergenic formula without fillers or common allergens. It does not state a hydroxytyrosol content. We include it because a large share of searches for "Pure Encapsulations hydroxytyrosol" land on this page, and the honest answer is that Pure Encapsulations does not make a standalone hydroxytyrosol capsule; this olive leaf product is the closest thing in its catalog.

Notable Features

  • About 75 mg oleuropein per capsule.
  • Hypoallergenic: no fillers or common allergens.
  • Widely stocked: practitioner and retail channels.

About Pure Encapsulations Olive Leaf Extract

Pure Encapsulations is known for clean, allergen-free formulations, and this product fits that reputation. As an olive leaf extract it is solid and moderately potent. As a hydroxytyrosol source it is unquantified, so it belongs at the bottom of a hydroxytyrosol ranking even though it might sit near the top of an olive leaf one.

Pros and Cons

Pros Cons
Hypoallergenic, filler-free formulation No hydroxytyrosol milligram on the label
Reliable, widely available brand Moderate oleuropein dose
Good choice for sensitive users Not a hydroxytyrosol supplement

Who It Is For

People with allergies or sensitivities who want an olive leaf extract from a brand they already trust. Not for anyone shopping specifically for hydroxytyrosol.

Leaf-Derived vs Fruit-Derived Hydroxytyrosol

Most capsules on the market start from olive leaf, because leaf is cheap and rich in oleuropein, which can be processed toward hydroxytyrosol. The research on olive polyphenols, from the EUROLIVE trial onward, used olive oil, which means fruit-derived hydroxytyrosol in a fat matrix. The bioavailability trial found the same dose recovered 2.6 times higher from extra virgin olive oil than from grapeseed oil, with no significant rise from water or yogurt. That is not proof that dry leaf-derived capsules do nothing; it is the reason the carrier and the source are two of our five criteria rather than footnotes, and why a bigger number on a dry capsule does not automatically mean more hydroxytyrosol in you. Our hydroxytyrosol guide covers the chemistry in more depth.

What "For Longevity" Actually Means Here

The phrase in the title needs a plain definition. The strongest human evidence on hydroxytyrosol comes from a 16-week randomized trial in which 15 mg a day moved a set of oxidative-stress and inflammation biomarkers, the kind of markers aging research tracks; our breakdown of that trial lists which ones changed and which did not. No supplement on this list has been shown to extend lifespan, and none should be sold as if it has. What the evidence supports is narrower and still worth having: a well-characterized olive polyphenol, at a modest daily dose, with a recognized effect on blood-lipid oxidation and a growing trial record on inflammation markers.

Frequently Asked Questions About Hydroxytyrosol Supplements

How much hydroxytyrosol should I take per day?

The EU health claim is built on 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives a day. Human trials have commonly used 5 to 20 mg, with a 16-week study at 15 mg a day providing some of the clearest biomarker results. A 20 to 25 mg capsule covers that range in one dose. Higher labeled doses, such as 50 mg, sit above the trial range and are a reason to talk to your doctor first.

Is hydroxytyrosol safe?

The European Food Safety Authority reviewed hydroxytyrosol as a novel food in 2017 and found it safe at the intake levels it assessed; our summary of that opinion covers the details. It is a compound people have consumed in olive oil for thousands of years. As with any supplement, anyone pregnant, on medication, or managing a condition should check with a clinician before starting.

Can I just get hydroxytyrosol from olive oil instead?

Yes, if the oil carries enough. The EU claim requires 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol and derivatives per 20 g of oil, roughly 250 mg/kg in total polyphenols, and most supermarket extra virgin tests below that. A high-phenolic oil at 1,000+ mg/kg clears it in a tablespoon. Our olive oil capsule roundup and healthiest olive oils guide cover both routes.

Does Pure Encapsulations make a hydroxytyrosol supplement?

Not a standalone one. Pure Encapsulations sells an olive leaf extract standardized to about 75 mg oleuropein per capsule, with no hydroxytyrosol figure on the label. If you want a stated hydroxytyrosol dose, ProHealth, Swanson Olea25 and our own capsule all put one on the bottle.

Does hydroxytyrosol help with weight loss?

There is no good human evidence that it does, and we do not sell it for that. The trial record is about blood-lipid oxidation and inflammation biomarkers. A supplement marketed for hydroxytyrosol weight loss is making a claim the research does not support.

Does a higher labeled dose mean more hydroxytyrosol absorbed?

Not on its own. In the 20-person trial that varied only the carrier, the same 5 mg recovered 2.6 times higher from extra virgin olive oil than from grapeseed oil, and water and yogurt produced no significant rise at all. A 50 mg dry capsule and a 23.5 mg capsule delivered in olive oil are not comparable on the label number alone, and only the second has a published report behind it.

Final Verdict

Seven products, and the honest split is simple. Five put a hydroxytyrosol number on the label. One of those five publishes a lab report to back it, and it is the only one delivered in olive oil, the carrier the absorption trial favored. Two print a higher number on the label than our verified 23.5 mg, without a report and without the oil. Two are olive leaf products that people find while searching for hydroxytyrosol and that do not state a hydroxytyrosol content at all.

Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement capsule beside extra virgin olive oil, the fruit-derived source of hydroxytyrosol

The Olivea Hydroxytyrosol Supplement is the pick: the highest verified dose on this list at 23.5 mg, delivered in the carrier the absorption trial favored, with the number on our lab results page. ProHealth is the runner-up if you want a labeled 25 mg from a US brand at a lower cost per milligram and are comfortable without a report or the oil. If you want the same on a budget, Swanson Olea25. If you want fruit-derived at a lower price and will vet the seller, Island Nutrition. And if you would rather get your hydroxytyrosol from a tablespoon of oil, start with the oils that publish their numbers in our polyphenol-rich olive oil roundup.

This article is educational and is not medical advice. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Olivea publishes this article and includes its own product among those reviewed. Doses, counts, prices and availability for non-Olivea products are as labeled or publicly listed by their producers at the time of writing and may change; verify before purchase. Talk to your doctor before starting any supplement.

Editorial Information

Editorial note. This article is published by Olivea and includes Olivea’s own product among those reviewed. Pros, cons, and rankings reflect the editorial perspective of the Olivea team.

Health information. Statements in this article have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Olivea products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Consult a healthcare professional before making changes to your diet or supplement routine.

Comparison note. Specs, prices, and label information for non-Olivea products are based on publicly available sources at the time of publication and may have changed. Verify directly with each brand before purchase.

Daily Polyphenols.
Cardiologist Formulated.
Try Olivea →

Cart

No more products available for purchase